top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLevVergara梦竹

Love the way I teach :)

Updated: Sep 15, 2019



Teaching is quite difficult for me; to be honest this was my first time teaching an actual class. I am happy because I manage myself and adapt to the situation. At first, I find hard handling my students and I’m so very nervous and lack of confidence, but thank God because after 2-3 days of teaching I already handled the situation smoothly and that because I planed and observed first the other teacher. My teaching experiences in Sulawesi, Palu Indonesia (SMA Lab school Untad) were indeed a remarkable experienced. It enhanced my teaching skills.

My life in SMA LabSchool Untad was very awesome. Every day I need to wake up 4 or 5 am just to do morning routine and by 6:30 am all the teachers should be lined up. I was amazed by the way the SMA LabSchool does their morning routine they will assemble all the students for a short period just to give some motivations or updates. This was very different in our country we only have 1-day flag ceremony and the teachers were not like the SMA teachers.

Senior High School XI and grade X is my class, I am thankful to meet them and be there teacher, they are all intelligent, active, collaborative and humble I love them all so much. In my grade 11 class, I have 22 students and for my grade 10, I have 23 students.


1.1 Procedures of teaching

After I observed the class of cooperating teacher I planned my lesson on how to make it successful. Before I teach my students I pass first my lesson plan to my cooperating teacher and get their approval, after corrected some mistakes such as the activity the allotted time, which was my time to plan for my next move. I will read and analyze my lesson and especially the subject matter so that my learning activities will be pleasant.

I love making traditional materials because I believe that someday the students won’t notice the importance of using Manila paper, Cartolina, even though we're in the 21st century, it was indeed good if both media and traditional materials are prepared so that teacher will not find it difficult to teach and also to lessen their burdens.

I love planning some learning activities to my students so that they will never forget the lesson I thought to them. Sometimes, I played some English songs and group work for the students. To measure the students’ understandings, I used the worksheet as the evaluation. I used colored and pictures so that the students will find it interesting.

1.2 Time management and organizing activities

The time management is a crucial part for me; to be honest, I find it difficult because I must teach 3 hours to my grade 11 Mia-3 class. This is my first time learning that it should have that long teaching hour nevertheless I still adjust and adapt the scenario. And I know that this was only a challenge for me and I am thankful for that. At last, I did a great job my students love the way I teach not just only about learning my lesson but also some activities and motivational I gave to them.

Time is not a problem at all because you need to do is to be perseverance and patiently plan your lesson so that your teaching will go smoothly. Students love activities I think they can learn much if you make an authentic scenario such as dialogues, role play, making slogan, and so on.

1.3 Problem-solving

How I solved the difficulties? Yes! Problem is inevitable and no one can escape on it but how I deal with it? I had technical problems in time management. Sometimes I feel embarrassed every time the bell already rang but my students still answering the evaluation sheet but thank God I manage it.

Nevertheless, the solution is to continue next time or gave them homework and by the next class, we will check on it. The best solution that I always do is to breathe deeply and relax even though inside of my heart I was really afraid and nervous. I tried to smile just to pretend that everything was okay. I tried to spare time with my students and to get closer with them by asking questions one by one. Getting their attention by saying a greeting and some of Bahasa Indonesia and English or Chinese language because I know they have a big curiosity with the different languages. And I am happy to tell you that it worked!

1.4 Classroom management

Being a teacher is one of the noble works, their responsibility is to manage and handle the class smoothly. However, classroom managing was one of my weaknesses. At first, I don't know how to handle the class there few students who don't want to listen but there also lots of students participating in my class. One of the techniques that I did was I made a Popsicle sticks one stick is orange and the other is green, every time they want to answer my question all they need to raise is the orange Popsicle and green for their question. If they answer my questions correctly they will get "Bintang" chips in English"Star" this star will serve their recitation at the end of the month the most students who got the number of stars will get a life-changing price. In that, the students are all excited to answer my question and they are all attentively listening to my lesson already. Teaching them are one of my unforgettable moment in life.


Actual Footage while teaching the class Mia-X3


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page